Risk Partners Life Sciences Roundtable 2024 at the IZB: Register now for 18.07.24 - learn more >
Your Risk.
Our DNA.

With Atrialis - experts for clinical trials, we have been successfully supporting our clients in the market since 2007. With the founding of Risk Partners in 2023, we have significantly expanded our range of services once again. We are specialized and aim to be the market leader in these specializations for game changers. Accordingly, we are regularly involved in important topics for you or network with important trendsetters in our specializations. We are happy to keep you up to date with our developments so that you can regularly read new articles here.  

News from Risk Partners -
For you in our specialist areas

OLG Schleswig – Statute of Limitations for Liability Claims in the Case of Direct Claims in D&O Insurance

OLG Schleswig: Limitation of liability claims for direct claims in D&O insurance. There is a new, exciting ruling from the world of D&O insurance. We recently reported on the decision of the Higher Regional Court of Cologne in the context of direct claims. Now the Higher Regional Court of Schleswig has also made a groundbreaking decision. What was it about? The focus was on the question of the statute of limitations. However, it must be borne in mind that the question of limitation in D&O claims is not trivial.

Read more "

Finance Day 2024

Growth capital for biotechnology and life sciences - Finance Day 2024 A few days ago, Jutta and Florian from our team attended Finance Day 2024 at the analytica trade fair in Munich. The event once again offered exciting expert panels on current financing and capital market issues for life sciences companies. As the panels focused on three of our key consulting areas, namely life sciences, venture capital and IPOs, a visit was of course a must for us as a specialist insurance broker. Our team has

Read more "

Public prosecutor's office investigates: Suspicion of deception in short-time work (Sono Motors)

No startup bonus for criminal and administrative offenses. The incident and possible insurance coverage. As exclusively researched by the team led by Hannah Schwär from Capital Magazine, the founders of Sono Motors are now also threatened with problems with the public prosecutor's office. According to Capital Magazine, subsidy fraud is in the context of short-time work and the programs related to the Corona crisis. The company, which is listed on the NASDAQ via De-SPAC, was reported to the SEC

Read more "

Earnings Call: one 0 too many - the Lyft CEO mistake

"Look, it was a bad mistake, and that's on me," CEO of LYFT Inc. The incident and possible insurance coverage. You may have also heard about the recent incident with LYFT. In the quarterly earnings report, LYFT originally stated that profit margins were up 500 basis points before correcting this to 50 basis points during the conference call. This clerical error caused the share price to fall more than 60% in after-hours trading.

Read more "

We provide information on liability risks for VC funds in the VC Magazine

In December, we were asked by VC-Magazin whether we could provide insights into liability and risk management issues relating to venture capital funds. With pleasure! Together with the team, Florian not only provided insights into current challenges, but also suggested practical solutions to effectively minimize and sensibly transfer the risks of a VC fund. You will therefore find in the VC-Magazin article: Added value of customized insurance concepts for VC funds (focus: D&O/E&O insurance #Moonshotprotect), key measures for risk prevention

Read more "

Digital and effective prevention of directors' and officers' liability by Risk Partners & Fides Technology

Now on Vimeo and Soundcloud: practical tips from experts with high relevance for avoiding liability for managing directors. Content: Personal liability is a constant sword of Damocles hovering over managing directors in everyday life. The standard of care is strict and directors bear the burden of proof. In collaboration with the distinguished corporate lawyer Eva Homborg (Esche Schümann Commichau) and governance expert Philippa Peters (Fides Technology GmbH), we have spent months compiling practical measures on how to avoid this personal liability.

Read more "

"I believe in a strong IPO comeback in 2024" - Interview Platform Life Sciences

Risk Partners in the trade press. Florian was approached by the journalists from Plattform Life Sciences for an interview on our view of 2024 and the development of Risk Partners over the past year. In addition to challenging claims, product innovations (e.g. all about POSI insurance) from Risk Partners, Florian also discusses our reasons for "teaming up" with our fantastic colleagues from Atrialis GmbH - experts in clinical trials.

Read more "

OLG Cologne: Insurer clarifies burden of proof for direct claim in D&O insurance

Cologne Higher Regional Court finally provides clarification in the area of D&O direct litigation with a recent ruling A new and exciting ruling from the world of D&O insurance. The proceedings dealt with the question of who bears the burden of proof if a company does not first take action against the managing director in an internal liability case, but instead takes direct action against the D&O insurer(s) (so-called direct action). This is possible if the defendant has assigned his/her indemnification claims against the D&O insurer to the company.

Read more "

How managers protect themselves from personal liability in the event of cyber incidents - #29Minutes by Control Risk & Risk Partners

How directors and officers protect themselves from personal liability in the event of cyber incidents - #29Minutes by Control Risk & Risk Partners Looking at our claims experience in the area of directors' and officers' liability in recent years, internal claims alleging inadequate cyber risk management and emergency management in the event of a cyber attack are unfortunately on the rise. In addition to special risk transfer solutions (cyber and crime insurance), there are also very practical tips on how to react correctly if the worst comes to the worst. After an exchange

Read more "

Finance Day 2023

Growth capital for biotechnology: Yesterday, today, tomorrow! A few days ago, Jutta Zaglauer and Florian Eckstein from our team attended the Finance Day 2023 on the occasion of the 25th anniversary of biotechnology at the IZB - Innovation and Startup Center for Biotechnology. The event offered an exciting exchange and insights into current financing and capital market issues of biotechnology companies. As an experienced specialist insurance broker for the areas of life sciences, venture capital and IPOs, all three cornerstones of our "magic expertise triangle" were part of the event

Read more "

Atrialis GmbH - experts in clinical trial insurance

Atrialis GmbH - experts in clinical trial insurance & Risk Partners will play in the same team in the future. LifeSciences - Leading risk concepts for leading science! This has been our guiding principle for many years in advising innovative companies in the fields of biotechnology, pharmaceuticals and medical products on risk issues and supporting them with suitable insurance solutions in all growth and study phases, from foundation to IPO and beyond (e.g. insuring a clinical trial). Together with my

Read more "

Whistleblower Protection Act

Whistleblower Protection Act ... is now in force. Hey #VCs, do you already have a system in place for safe #whistleblowing? And what about insurance cover in your D&O insurance? One month ago today, the German Whistleblower Protection Act came into force. Since July 2, 2023, not only companies with more than 50 employees, but also fund managers and ManCos (capital management companies in accordance with Section 17 (1) of the German Investment Code) have been obliged to set up and operate a whistleblower system, regardless of

Read more "

13th Hamburg Financial Lines Forum

Risk Partners at the Financial Lines Forum 13th Hamburg Financial Lines Forum. On October 12 and 13, the 13th Hamburg Financial Lines Forum took place with the participation of Risk Partners, a traditional event that this year once again served as a forum for the exchange of current trends. The program began with an overview of current developments and the handling of claims in financial lines, presented by Gabriele Schreiber-Sahin, Michael Hendricks. Dr.

Read more "

Cyber Risks: Case Study Evotec

Last year, more than 10 percent of German companies were affected by an IT security incident, with the proportion rising due to cyber attacks. Biotechnology is not excluded either. It is possible to learn from the Evotec case. It is about successful cyber attacks or other incidents that are important for security, such as acts of sabotage or hardware theft. According to a representative Ipsos survey conducted on behalf of the TÜV association among 501 companies with more

Read more "

St. Gallen study: USD 6 billion per drug

HSG St. Gallen: Drug costs USD 6.16 billion on average. Are the days of new drugs costing less than USD 1 billion over? There were figures in the industry that spoke of USD 700-1,000 million as the cost of developing a new drug. A study by the University of St. Gallen covering the period 2001-2020 found that the cost of developing new drugs has risen dramatically. It was estimated that

Read more "

Known from:

You have questions -
we solve them!

1

Your question to us

We are highly specialized, so we can tell you immediately whether this is within our area of expertise (e.g. fire insurance for a sawmill is not), a D&O program for a NASDAQ listing is.

2

Advice & proposed solution

As an independent insurance broker, we work with all insurers relevant to our specializations in the continental European and UK markets - one of our USPs. As part of our consultation, we discuss with you the optimal marketing strategy for your risk for our tender.

Franziska Merz

Senior Risk Advisor Financial Lines

3

Market comparison & recommendation

Depending on your requirements, e.g. D&O insurance via one insurer or a structured program with 10 insurers, we will present you with the possibilities of the market based on our customer-friendly product developments (e.g. Risk Partners D&O Prime Protect 2024) without obligation.

Does our proposal solve your issue? You decide whether we should implement our proposal for you.

4

Promise of care

Your risk changes (e.g. new financing round) or the insurance market changes, we discuss with you possible adjustment options or urgent need for change. Claims? You call us first and we take over for you at eye level with the insurers.
Risk Partners, your insurance experts!

Risk Partners Life Sciences Roundtable 2024 im IZB: Jetzt für den 18.07.24 anmelden – mehr erfahren >
Your Risk.
Our DNA.

Seit 2007 sind wir mit Atrialis – experts for clinical trials erfolgreich an der Seite unserer Mandanten im Markt, mit der Gründung der Risk Partners in 2023 haben wir unser Leistungsspektrum nochmal deutlich ausgebaut. Wir sind spezialisiert und haben den Anspruch, in diesen Spezialisierungen für Gamechanger marktführend zu sein. Entsprechend sind wir regelmäßig an wichtigen Themen für Sie dran oder vernetzen uns mit wichtigen Impulsgebern in unseren Spezialisierungen. Gerne halten wir Sie zu den Entwicklungen bei uns auf dem Laufenden, sodass Sie hier regelmäßig neue Beiträge lesen können.  

News von Risk Partners -
Für Sie in unseren Spezialgebieten

Global Integrity and Compliance Forum 2024 

𝗚𝗹𝗼𝗯𝗮𝗹 𝗜𝗻𝘁𝗲𝗴𝗿𝗶𝘁𝘆 𝗮𝗻𝗱 𝗖𝗼𝗺𝗽𝗹𝗶𝗮𝗻𝗰𝗲 𝗙𝗼𝗿𝘂𝗺 𝟮𝟬𝟮𝟰 „D&O and Co. – Plan B to cover personal liability!” Am vergangenen Freitag hatte Florian die Ehre, am Global Integrity and Compliance Forum an der Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität München teilzunehmen. Unter dem Motto „The RULE of LAW in the Era of Integrity & Compliance” versammelten sich internationale Rechtsexpert:innen, Unternehmensleiter:innen sowie Inhouse Councils & Compliance-Beauftragte aus aller Welt, um über die Zukunft der „Good Corporate Governance“ im

Weiterlesen »

Forschungspanne im Stockholmer Karolinska-Institut: Ein Kühlungsausfall vernichtet Zellkulturen jahrzehntelanger Forschung

Forschungspanne im Stockholmer Karolinska-Institut: Ein Kühlungsausfall vernichtet Zellkulturen jahrzehntelanger Forschung – kann man sich dagegen versichern? Ein existenzbedrohender Vorfall, den wir Ihnen jedoch gerne einmal aus Sicht eines auf Life Sciences spezialisierten Versicherungsmaklers beleuchten wollen. Was ist passiert? Am Stockholmer Karolinska-Institut, dem wichtigsten medizinischen Forschungszentrum Schwedens, hat fünf Tage lang ein Kühlungssystem versagt. Biologisches Material, das über 30 Jahre hinweg gesammelt wurde und laut Institutsmitteilung weltweit einzigartig war, wurde dadurch

Weiterlesen »

OLG Schleswig – Verjährung des Haftungsanspruchs beim Direktanspruch in der D&O-Versicherung

OLG Schleswig: Verjährung des Haftungsanspruchs beim Direktanspruch in der D&O-Versicherung. Es gibt ein neues, spannendes Urteil aus der Welt der D&O-Versicherung. Jüngst hatten wir über die Entscheidung des OLG Köln im Kontext der Direktklage berichtet. Nun hat auch das OLG Schleswig eine wegweisende Entscheidung getroffen. Worum ging es? Im Mittelpunkt stand die Frage der Verjährung. Hierbei muss jedoch berücksichtigt werden, dass die Frage der Verjährung im D&O-Schadenfall nicht trivial ist.

Weiterlesen »

Finance Day 2024

Wachstumskapital für Biotechnologieund Life Sciences – Finance Day 2024 Vor ein paar Tagen waren Jutta und Florian aus unserem Team auf dem Finance Day 2024 der analytica Messe in München. Das Event bot wieder spannende Experten-Panels zu aktuellen Finanzierungs- und Kapitalmarktfragen von Life Sciences-Unternehmen. Da gleich drei unserer Beratungsschwerpunkte, nämlich die Bereiche Life Sciences, Venture Capital und IPOs im Fokus der Panels standen, war ein Besuch für uns als Spezialversicherungsmakler natürlich Pflicht. Unser Team hat

Weiterlesen »

Staatsanwaltschaft ermittelt: Täuschungsverdacht bei Kurzarbeit (Sono Motors)

Keinen Startup-Bonus bei Straf- und Ordnungswidrigkeiten. Der Vorfall und möglicher Versicherungsschutz. Wie vom Team um Hannah Schwär vom Capital Magazin exklusiv recherchiert wurde, drohen den Gründern von Sono Motors nun auch Probleme mit der Staatsanwaltschaft. Laut dem Capital Magazin steht Subventionsbetrug im Rahmen der Kurzarbeit und den Programmen rund um die Coronakrise im Raum. Eine Meldung des Unternehmens, das via De-SPAC an der NASDAQ gelistet ist, an die SEC erfolgte

Weiterlesen »

Earnings Call: eine 0 zu viel – der Lyft-CEO-Fehler

„Look, it was a bad error, and that’s on me,” CEO von LYFT Inc. Der Vorfall und möglicher Versicherungsschutz. Ggf. haben Sie auch von dem jüngsten Vorfall mit LYFT gehört. Im Quartals Earnings Report gab LYFT ursprünglich an, dass die Gewinnmargen um 500 Basispunkte steigen, bevor dies während der Telefonkonferenz auf 50 Basispunkte korrigiert wurde. Dieser Schreibfehler führte dazu, dass der Aktienkurs im nachbörslichen Handel um mehr als 60 %

Weiterlesen »

Wir informieren im VC-Magazin zu Haftungsrisiken bei VC-Fonds

Wir wurden im Dezember vom VC-Magazin gefragt, ob wir Einblicke in Haftungs- und Risikomanagementfragen zu Venture Capital Fonds geben können. Gerne! So hat Florian zusammen mit dem Team nicht nur Einblicke in aktuelle Herausforderungen gegeben, sondern auch praktische Lösungsansätze vorgeschlagen, um Risiken eines VC-Fonds effektiv zu minimieren und sinnvoll zu transferieren. Sie finden daher im Artikel des VC-Magazins:   Mehrwerte maßgeschneiderter Versicherungskonzepte für VC-Fonds (Fokus: D&O/E&O-Versicherung #Moonshotprotect), Schlüsselmaßnahmen zur Risikoprävention

Weiterlesen »

Haftung der Geschäftsleiter:innnen digital und wirksam vorbeugen by Risk Partners & Fides Technology

Innovation by Risk Partners & Fides Technology Jetzt auf Vimeo und Soundcloud: bündig von Experten:innen praxisnahe Tipps mit hoher Relevanz für die Haftungsvermeidung von Geschäftsleiter:innen erhalten. Frage unbeantwortet? Inhalt: Die persönliche Haftung schwebt als ein ständiges Damoklesschwert im Alltag über Geschäftsleiter. Der Sorgfaltsmaßstab ist streng und die Geschäftsleiter tragen die Beweislast. In Zusammenarbeit mit der profilierten Gesellschaftsrechtlerin Eva Homborg (Esche Schümann Commichau) und der Governance-Expertin Philippa Peters (Fides Technology GmbH)

Weiterlesen »

„Ich glaube an ein starkes IPO-Comeback in 2024“ – Interview Plattform Life Sciences

Risk Partners in der Fachpresse. Florian wurde von den Journalisten der Plattform Life Sciences um ein Interview zu unserer Sichtweise auf das Jahr 2024 sowie der Unternehmensentwicklung der Risk Partners im vergangenen Jahr angesprochen. Neben herausfordernden Schadenfällen, Produktinnovationen (z.B. rundum die POSI-Versicherung) aus dem Hause Risk Partners geht Florian auch nochmal auf unsere Beweggründe für das “Team up” mit den phantastischen Kollegen:innen von Atrialis GmbH – experts in clinical trials”

Weiterlesen »

OLG Köln: Versicherer klärt Beweislast beim Direktanspruch in der D&O Versicherung

OLG Köln schafft mit aktuellen Urteil endlich Klärung im Bereich der D&O-Direktprozesse Ein neues spannendes Urteil aus der Welt der D&O-Versicherung. Im Rahmen des Verfahrens ging es um die Frage, wer die Beweislast trägt, wenn ein Unternehmen im Innenhaftungsfall nicht zuerst gegen den Geschäftsleiter:in, sondern sich direkt an den bzw. die D&O-Versicherer wendet (sogenannte Direktklage). Dies ist möglich, wenn der/die Beschuldigte seine Freistellungsansprüche gegenüber dem/der D&O-Versicherer an die Gesellschaft abgetreten

Weiterlesen »

So schützen sich Geschäftsleitende vor persönlicher Haftung bei Cyber-Incidents – #29Minutes by Control Risk & Risk Partners

So schützen sich Geschäftsleitende vor persönlicher Haftung bei Cyber-Incidents – #29Minutes by Control Risk & Risk Partners Blicken wir auf unsere Schadenerfahrung im Bereich Organhaftung in den letzten Jahren, so nehmen Innenansprüche mit dem Vorwurf unzureichendem Cyber Risk Management sowie Notfallmanagement bei einer Cyberattacke leider stark zu. Neben speziellen Risikotransferlösungen (Cyber- und VSV-Versicherung) gibt es auch ganz praktische Tipps, um im Fall der Fälle richtig zu reagieren.  Nach einem Austausch

Weiterlesen »

Finance Day 2023

Wachstumskapital für Biotechnologie: Gestern, Heute, Morgen! Vor ein paar Tagen waren Jutta Zaglauer und Florian Eckstein aus unserem Team auf dem Finance Day 2023 anlässlich des 25-jährigen Jubiläums Biotechnologie im IZB – Innovation and Startup Center for Biotechnology. Das Event bot einen spannenden Austausch und Einblicke in aktuelle Finanzierungs- und Kapitalmarktfragen von Biotechnologie-Unternehmen. Als erfahrener Spezialversicherungsmakler für die Bereiche Life Sciences, Venture Capital und IPOs, waren gleich alle drei Eckpunkte unseres „magischen Expertise-Dreiecks“ Teil

Weiterlesen »

Atrialis GmbH – experts in clinical trial insurance

Atrialis GmbH – experts in clinical trial insurance & Risk Partners spielen künftig im gleichen Team. LifeSciences – Führende Risikokonzepte für führende Wissenschaft!  Unter diesem Leitmotiv dürfen wir seit vielen Jahren innovative Unternehmen aus dem Umfeld von Biotechnologie, Pharma und Medizinprodukten umfänglich in Risikofragen beraten und mit passenden Versicherungslösungen in allen Wachstums- und Studienphasen, von Gründung bis Börsengang und darüber hinaus (z.B. Versicherung einer klinischen Studie), begleiten. Gemeinsam mit meinem

Weiterlesen »

Hinweisgeberschutzgesetz

Hinweisgeberschutzgesetz … ist nunmehr in Kraft. Hey #VCs, habt ihr bereits ein System eingerichtet für sicheres #Whistleblowing? Und wie sieht es mit Versicherungsschutz in der D&O-Versicherung aus?  Heute vor einem Monat trat das deutsche Hinweisgeberschutzgesetz in Kraft. Seit dem 2. Juli 2023 sind damit nicht nur Unternehmen mit mehr als 50 Mitarbeitern, sondern auch Fondsmanager bzw. ManCos (Kapitalverwaltungsgesellschaften gemäß § 17 Absatz 1 des Kapitalanlagegesetzbuchs) verpflichtet, ein Hinweisgebersystem einzurichten und zu betreiben, unabhängig

Weiterlesen »

13. Hamburger Financial Lines Forum

Risk Partners auf dem Financial Lines Forum 13. Hamburger Financial Lines Forum. Am 12. und 13. Oktober fand das 13. Hamburger Financial Lines Forum mit Beteiligung der Risk Partners statt, eine traditionsreiche Veranstaltung, die auch in diesem Jahr wieder zum Austausch aktueller Trends diente. Das Programm begann mit einem Überblick über die aktuellen Entwicklungen und die Abwicklung von Schadensfällen in den Financial Lines, präsentiert von Gabriele Schreiber-Sahin, Michael Hendricks. Dr.

Weiterlesen »

Bekannt aus:

Sie haben Fragen -
wir lösen sie!

1

Ihre Frage an uns

Wir sind hochspezialisiert, sodass wir Sie umgehend Auskunft geben, ob dies in unserem Fachgebiet liegt (z.B. ist es die Feuerversicherung eines Sägewerks nicht), ein D&O-Programm für ein NASDAQ-Listing schon.

2

Beratung & Lösungsvorschlag

Als unabhänger Versicherungsmakler arbeiten wir mit allen in unseren Spezialisierungen relevanten Versicherern im kontinental-europäischen und UK-Markt zusammen - einer unserer USPs. Im Rahmen unserer Beratung besprechen wir mit Ihnen die optimale Vermarktungsstrategie Ihres Risikos für unsere Ausschreibung.

Franziska Merz

Senior Risk Advisorin Financial Lines

3

Marktvergleich & Empfehlung

Je nach Aufgabenstellung z.B. D&O-Versicherung via einem Versicherer oder ein strukturiertes Programm mit 10 Versicherern stellen wir dir die Möglichkeiten des Marktes auf Basis unserer kundenfreundlichen Produktentwicklungen (z.B. Risk Partners D&O Prime Protect 2024) Ihnen unverbindlich vor.

Löst unser Vorschlag Ihr Thema? Sie entscheiden, ob wir unseren Vorschlag für Sie umsetzen sollen.

4

Betreuungs-
versprechen

Ihr Risiko wandelt sich (z.B. neue Finanzierungsrunde) oder der Versicherungsmarkt ändert sich, wir besprechen mit Ihnen mögliche Anpassungsmöglichkeiten bzw. dringenden Änderungsbedarf. Schadenfall? Sie rufen zuerst uns an und wir übernehmen für Sie auf Augenhöhe mit den Versicherern.
Risk Partners, Ihre Versicherungsexperten!