Risk Partners Life Sciences Roundtable 2024 at the IZB: Register now for 18.07.24 - learn more >

Commuting accident insurance

Properly insure the transportation of the volunteer and the person accompanying them to and from the clinical trials.

Medical progress is not possible without research. Before drugs and medical devices are approved, their effect, mode of action and safety must be tested on humans. This is done in clinical studies. In addition, new examination and treatment methods are also tested in clinical trials in order to gain scientifically sound findings. This participation is associated with increased health risks for the test subjects.

While we discussed volunteer insurance in Part 1 and radiation liability insurance in Part 3, in Part 2 we would like to take a closer look at commuting accident insurance for clinical trials so that you are aware of the possible types of insurance for your trial and can make an informed decision. In this context, we would also like to refer you to our series of articles (Article 1 on patent disputes) in Transcript 2024.

1 Who benefits from commuting accident insurance?

The insurance for participants and their accompanying persons in the clinical trial is taken out with a special insurer approved within the scope of the AMG or MPG - usually with the help of a special insurance broker such as us as your risk partner. This is often combined with the provider of the trial participant insurance.

Watch out for loss of consciousness in commuting accident insurance!

Our experience in the event of a claim has taught us that loss of consciousness is not considered an insured claim in many circumstances. On the other hand, ethical standards of duty of care oblige us to provide the test subjects with appropriate care - in case of doubt, by providing an overnight stay in inpatient care. As a specialist insurance broker, we therefore make sure that this is insured for you.

2 What does commuting accident insurance cover?

The aim of commuting accident insurance is to insure the journey to and from the study center for the participants (and accompanying persons) of the clinical trial. This includes, for example, classic accident risks that can befall the trial participants. For example, there has been a serious fall from a bicycle with serious consequences for the trial participant(s).  

In the event of disability due to an accident, participants receive a fixed one-off payment from the commuting accident insurance. If a test person dies, the surviving dependents are covered by the agreed death benefit.

As can be seen from the example, the choice of mobility plays no role with regard to the insurance cover. It is therefore irrelevant for commuting accident insurance whether the outward and return journey was made by train, bicycle, car or on foot .

3. who needs commuting accident insurance and when do you need it?

In addition to sponsors or CROs with a duty of care, demand is often driven by the ethics committee. This is because the ethics committees are paying more and more attention to the risk of commuting and are therefore increasingly demanding insurance cover for this in addition to traditional volunteer insurance. We therefore receive typical requests for commuting accident insurance:  

  • Pharmaceutical manufacturers
  • Biotechnology company
  • Research organizations (universities) / CROs
  • Producers of medical devices
  • Generics manufacturer

4 What are the other special features of international clinical trials?

For a long time, it was challenging to insure the risk of commuting accidents outside of Germany. This situation has changed, not least thanks to tireless discussions between our colleagues at Risk Partners and the insurers, so that you can now also benefit from the promised benefits of German commuting accident insurance for test persons abroad.

International study? We are familiar with the entire problem, because there is hardly a country in the world where we have not yet accompanied a clinical trial. We are happy to use our long-standing, reliable contacts with leading insurance companies and work together with what is still the most important insurance market in the world: Lloyd's of London. Last but not least, we were recently able to further strengthen our team with our experienced colleagues from Atrialis GmbH - experts in clinical trial insurance

Do you already know our guidelines for QP and PRRC?

Benefit from our expert knowledge

Request our guides now

Receive the Life Sciences Insurance Protection Guide free of charge!

Everything you need to know to optimally protect you and your life sciences / biotech company.

Risk Partners Life Sciences Roundtable 2024 im IZB: Jetzt für den 18.07.24 anmelden – mehr erfahren >

Wegeunfallversicherung

Den Zu- und Heimweg des Probanden und seiner Begleitperson zur klinischen Studien richtig versichern.

Medizinischer Fortschritt ist ohne Forschung nicht möglich. Vor der Zulassung von Arzneimitteln und Medizinprodukten müssen ihre Wirkung, Wirkungsweise und Sicherheit am Menschen getestet werden. Dies erfolgt durch klinische Studien. Darüber hinaus werden auch neue Untersuchungs- und Behandlungsmethoden in klinischen Studien erprobt, um wissenschaftlich fundierte Erkenntnisse zu gewinnen. Mit dieser Teilnahme sind für die Proband:innen erhöhte Gesundheitsrisiken verbunden.

Während wir in Teil 1. die Probandenversicherung thematisiert haben und in Teil 3. die Strahlenhaftpflichtversicherung, möchten wir in Teil 2. die Wegeunfallversicherung für klinische Studien vertiefen, sodass Sie die möglichen Versicherungsarten für Ihre Studie kennen und kompetent eine Entscheidung treffen können. In diesem Kontext möchten wir gerne auch auf unsere Artikelserie (Artikel 1 zu Patentstreitigkeiten) in der Transkript 2024 hinweisen.

1. Wer profitiert von einer Wegeunfallversicherung?

Die Versicherung wird für Teilnehmer:innen und deren Begleitpersonen bei der klinischen Studie bei einem im Geltungsbereich des AMG oder MPG zugelassenen Spezialversicherer abgeschlossen – meist unter Zuhilfenahme eines Spezialversicherungsmaklers wie uns als Ihre Risk Partner. Nicht selten wird dies mit dem Anbieter der Probandenversicherung kombiniert.

Aufgepasst bei Bewusstseinsstörungen in der Wegeunfallversicherung!

Unsere Erfahrung im Schadensfall hat uns gelehrt, dass Bewusstseinsstörungen in vielen Bedingungen nicht als versicherter Schadenfall gelten. Auf der anderen Seite verpflichten ethische Standards der Fürsorgepflicht, die Proband:innen angemessen zu versorgen – im Zweifelsfall durch eine Übernachtung in der stationären Versorgung. Als Spezialversicherungsmakler achten wir daher darauf, dass dies für Sie versichert ist.

2. Was sichert die Wegeunfallversicherung ab?

Ziel der Wegeunfallversicherung ist es, den Anfahrt- und Abfahrtsweg zum und vom Studienzentrum für die Teilnehmer:innen (und Begleitpersonen) der klinischen Studie abzusichern. Hierbei geht es z.B. um klassische Unfallgefahren, welche die Proband:innen ereilen können. So ist z.B. ein schwerer Fahrradsturz vorgekommen mit dann erheblichen Folgen für den/die Proband:innen.  

Im Falle einer Invalidität aufgrund eines Unfalls erhalten die Proband:innen eine festgelegte Einmalzahlung aus der Wegeunfallversicherung. Wenn ein:e Proband:in stirbt, sind die Hinterbliebenen durch die vereinbarte Todesfallleistung abgesichert.

Wie an dem Beispiel ersichtlich, spielt die Wahl der Mobilität keine Rolle mit Blick auf den Versicherungsschutz. Es ist daher für die Wegeunfallversicherung egal, ob der Hin- und Rückweg mit dem Zug, Fahrrad, Auto oder zu Fuß in Angriff genommen wurde. 

3. Wer benötigt eine Wegeunfallversicherung und wann braucht man diese?

Neben Sponsoren oder CROs mit Fürsorgepflicht wird die Nachfrage häufig von der Ethik-Kommission getrieben. Denn dem Wegerisiko wird von den Ethik-Kommissionen immer mehr Beachtung geschenkt und entsprechend wird neben der traditionellen Probandenversicherung verstärkt Versicherungsschutz hierfür eingefordert. Zu den typischen Nachfragen nach einer Wegeunfallversicherung gehören daher bei uns:  

  • Pharmazeutische Hersteller
  • Biotechnologie Unternehmen
  • Forschungsorganisationen (Universitäten) / CROs
  • Produzenten medizinischer Geräte
  • Generika-Hersteller

4. Was sind weitere Besonderheiten bei internationalen klinischen Studien?

Lange Zeit war es herausfordernd das Risiko Wegunfall außerhalb von Deutschland abzusichern. Diese Situation hat sich nicht zuletzt durch unermüdliche Gespräche der Kollegen der Risk Partners mit den Versicherern geändert, sodass Sie nun das Leistungsversprechen einer deutschen Wegeunfallversicherung auch Proband:innen im Ausland zu Gute kommen lassen können.

Internationale Studie? Wir kennen die gesamte Problematik, denn es gibt kaum ein Land auf diesem Globus, in dem wir noch keine klinische Studie begleitet haben. Gerne nutzen wir für Sie unsere jahrelangen, belastbaren Kontakte zu führenden Versicherungsgesellschaften und arbeiten mit dem nach wie vor bedeutendsten Versicherungsmarkt der Welt zusammen: Lloyd´s of London. Nicht zuletzt konnten wir uns jüngst mit den erfahrenen Kollegen von Atrialis GmbH – experts in clinical trial insurance weiter verstärken. 

Kennen Sie schon unseren Leitfaden für QP und PRRC?

Profitieren Sie von unserem Expertenwissen

Jetzt unsere Leitfäden anfordern

Leitfaden Versicherungs-schutz Life Sciences kostenlos erhalten!

Alles Wissenswerte kompakt, um Euch und Euer Life Sciences / Biotech-Unternehmen optimal zu schützen.